Communicating from Mountasia

Language is one of the biggest barriers I’ve experienced since moving to my new country. The nationals are very agreeable with anything you say. A few of the nationals have an excellent command of English but most understand a few words and want you to think they understand what you’re asking them, remember the hairspray incident. I ventured to the mall today and decided to get my hair cut. As you know communication with the stylist is crucial, when I walked out I felt homesick for my stylist back home. I only spent $18 US (including tip) so I guess I shouldn’t complain. But the back is too short and the sides too long. I guess I didn’t communicate ‘layers, and just a little shorter’ very well. The positive side is it will grow back, eventually, but until the back grows out I’m wearing clips to keep it off my face (not a pretty picture I can assure you).

The national worker bees in my office have wonderful communication skills, the subcontractor we work with tries hard, but at times communication is challenging, but then that’s part of the adventure of living in a new country. I’m sure eventually my ear will start hearing the words correctly.

At lunch this past weekend the topic of communicating with family came up, and I asked how the Imageothers managed to communicate with their families back home, their response,’ with great difficulty’. A few are dealing with a few hours difference, but the majority of us are dealing with 12 hours or more in time changes.

When I lived stateside I talked to my sister who lives in town almost daily, my sister out of state, once a month or so and I spoke to my daughters several times a week, if not a day. And my mom, I called her 2 to 3 times a week to hear how her latest doctor appointment went, but mainly just to hear her voice, and to know she was OK. I miss those short phone calls with her a lot (and the long ones with my daughters and sisters).

I got up earlier one morning this past week hoping I would catch someone online before heading out the door. Bonus, daughter Stacey was online so we connected through Skype and I had the opportunity to chat with her and my 2 youngest grand kids. It was wonderful to hear their voices, and hear all about the silly string they just bought. John bought green, Bethany bought purple but wished she had bought pink, her other favorite color.

I called mom the other day through Skype. It was great to hear her voice, but it was better to knowImage I put her mind at ease, she now knows that I’m OK and doing well. Once a mom always a mom, she’s worried about her baby. Mom doesn’t know it yet but for her birthday she’s getting a new tablet (from all her kids) so she can Skype me and see me anything she wants (as long as I’m awake).

 

Last night was a bonus, I stayed up LATE and made contact with 2 sisters, 1 daughter, and my husband. I slept much better in Mountasia after making contact with the rest of  my world.

6 responses to “Communicating from Mountasia

  1. Good evening Stella,
    Can you ask locals to tutor you in their language? It works quite well if you can manage to have classes on a weekly basis, especially, that you are there, in the country and for a long run …

  2. We need to find photos of hairstyles for you – not just the front, but side and back view as well. This MIGHT help!

  3. Great to hear from you…and see you! Hope work is keeping you busy. I think of you often!

    • Dede, I’m looking for a frame shop so I can frame my towel. I love it and appreciate it. Thinking of all my HH buddies on this first Friday, I’ll raise a glass and toast you all.

Leave a Reply

