Sorry I Got the Holiday Wrong in Mountaisa

I’m the first to admit when I’m wrong, well usually after it’s been pointed out to me several times, and I got the last holiday wrong. Malaysia’s Labor Day is this Wednesday May 1st. The last one was the Sultan of Perak’s birthday.

 

So here’s what I learned about Malaysia in the last day. There are 13 states and 13 Sultans. Each state celebrates their Sultans birthday, which is what happen here last week.

 

Now here’s what I learned about our Sultan: Image

He isn’t the first born (who normally gets the title). He was raised outside the Royal Circle by his mother after she and the Sultans father divorced. He played Rugby in college and was an all-star. As the elder Sultan was aging and ready to pass on the title the older brother passed and it was given to his younger brother.

 

The Sultan has a few titles you can choose from: Seri Paduka Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong (His Conqueror Majesty The Supreme Lord of the Federation) or “Seri Penakluk Paduka Beliau Keagungan Diraja Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong or (His Royal Conqueror Majesty The Supreme King of the Federation). Prior to that, the honorific Ke Bawah Duli Yang Maha Mulia (The Dust Under The Feet of His Majesty) was also used.

 

The Sultan is mostly a ceremonial title, he lives in a nice palace and appears to be well liked (I only spoke to a couple of people about it). The Prime Minister (my source didn’t have much to say about him) is up for election in a few days and there is a lot of opposition and several parties are rallying for his seat.

Image
Sorry for the incorrect information. But I hope you enjoyed learning a little bit about the Sultan from my part of Mountasia.

2 responses to “Sorry I Got the Holiday Wrong in Mountaisa

Leave a Reply

